The Transition Home

Taking a Breather

Friends, Family, and Supporters,

Please forgive me as my posts become more infrequent over the next few weeks. We’re coming down to the line, and my focus is oriented solely on the safe return of my men during a most formidable final stretch. Will keep posting soon :).

But as I take a step back and look at where this simple website is today from where it started almost a year ago, I shake my head in disbelief. What started as a means of sharing stories from the front lines has turned into my haven away from the battlefield. Managing this site has been a therapeutic release for me during a stressful tour. I read messages of phenomenal inspiration and support from well-wishers all over the world. Your love and empathy have been one of the strongest forces pushing me forward through a difficult tour. I am humbled at the loyalty so many of you have offered from so far away. It means more than you could ever know. A sincere thanks from Kandahar to all of you for always being there for me and my men. Keep the summer barbecue  grill hot and save a cold one for me…

-rajiv

9 responses

  1. Marilyn Pfaff

    You do what you have to do!! Stay focused!! Stay Frosty!!! Watch yourself over there.

    God bless you, Rajiv — God bless you all —

    12 May 10 at 01:54

  2. bhuvana

    Hello Rajiv,
    If I had to use just one word to describe the reaction your posts evoke and how you try to stay connected– ADMIRATION.

    Your posts on the good and the bad, the happy and the not so, the reparable and the incorrigible, the questions asked and the problems ignored, perceptions and reality about life in a strife ridden zone are looked forward to and read.

    Wishing everyone a safe return home to family, friends and much needed rest.

    12 May 10 at 02:12

  3. Cam Srpan

    Do you think it would be politically correct for a teacher to share a beer with her former student? If so,then one is waiting in Roanoke for you! 😉
    Take care…
    Cam S.

    12 May 10 at 02:32

  4. Donna Dilley

    Rajiv,

    Let me know when you are in Roanoke & we can have a celebration for your safe return home….You and the safety of your crew remain in my thoughts and prayers.

    Donna Dilley

    12 May 10 at 02:35

  5. Wolflpack46

    Done good/take your time and bring everyone back safe and sound/God Speed and may His Hand be upon you and your men.

    12 May 10 at 03:33

  6. TC

    Stay safe and I hope you all make it home. Thanks for all that you and your soldiers have sacrificed.

    12 May 10 at 19:41

  7. Vanessa Roesler

    Dear Rajiv: I understand your concern to stay focused especially since the end of your tour is in site. Many people slide till the end…figuring that they can make it at this point. There is too much to lose in lives and careers and your great record of what you have accomplished. I pray that you can stay focused and can find ways to keep your soldiers focused on what is here and now…not how much they want to go home and be with loved ones and have a beer or two. I pray you can reach them and keep them and yourself safe and successful in your mission.

    13 May 10 at 20:45

  8. Nina M

    Be safe! We can’t wait until you and your men are all home.

    16 May 10 at 03:54

  9. Meredith

    I am counting down the days til you get back Rajiv! It was so awesome to see your amazing parents and Ranj the other day. We missed you so much, but I’m glad that you’re coming back soon so we can make plans! I’m emailing you a photo from the photog’s website of the whole fam, A & me. It may be spam, but it’s fam spam. I’m thinking of you daily and praying for you and your men’s safety in this last stretch. I’ll be in touch again soon and meanwhile please be safe and know that you’re in our hearts.

    18 May 10 at 00:50

Leave a Reply

